Bake away

This weekend happened to be one of my more busier baking weekends. When I say busy I mean I spent an all of an hour and a half  in the kitchen. This week has been exhausting to say the least. 
One great thing was that I got my nails done on Friday night which normally makes me feel on top of the world! When we were done my nails looked great and I was showing them off but… My mind was crumbling and I couldn’t tell you why. You know when you have those moments where you get home and don’t want to see or speak to anyone? No? Oh then it must be my brain being its silly anxious self. 
Luckily I had my best friend and our favorite Gardenscapes on tournament and that means lots of free lives and endless hours of leveling up and making pretty gardens (I get it if you don’t understand this obsession. We both lead a medicated free life so now have other coping mechanisms haha). – I got to bed at 3am btw. 
Saturday’s are made for procrastinating and watching what ever you can find on Netflix (thanks mom!) I had been thinking about how to get the perfect dense chocolate brownie all day without using anything more than what was in my pantry (there was nothing on the planet that was going to get me out of the house and go shopping). All day I didn’t get off my lazy ass until finally around 6 or 7 pm I hauled myself off the couch and threw myself into the kitchen. 
My version of Alice Medrich’s chocolate brownies

Stuff you need:
Brownies:

10 tablespoons unsalted butter 

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar (If you use the 1/4 cup as brown sugar you will make them slightly chewyer (is that a word?) which is sooo delicious) these are also not overly sweet brownies FYI 

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 rounded teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large cold eggs

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Icing: 

6-8 tablespoons of your favorite hot chocolate powder 

4 tablespoons icing sugar

2 tablespoons milk

Time to bake!!! – I’m sorry but my instructions are not great but that is because I wing it a lot and I mean a lot! 

Double boiler on the go, greased and lined 8×8 inch dish done. Let’s go! Oven! Don’t forget the oven! 160•C to be exact. Oven rack on the lower – normally the second last level thing I don’t know what you call it. 

Into the double boiler goes the sugar, butter cocoa and salt (make sure the water isn’t touching the bottom of the heatproof bowl). Melt it down, aggressively mixed it up until it forms a grainy paste (sometimes we need grainy but if it’s smooth lucky you!). Arms are tired. Take the bowl off and put on the side. Need a smoke break/tea break what ever you do while the bowl cools down for a few minutes. 

Once cool and done with my break I add in the eggs in one at and mix it up. Add the vanilla – mix. Add the flour – mix (lots of mixing here might need another break) Batter is thick and sticky. 

Throw into the oven (not literally) for 30 minutes. They will be ready when you poke it with a tooth pick and it comes out cleanish. I often put them in for an extra 10 minutes. 

Icing 

While the brownies are in the oven I get cracking on with the icing. In a small pot I throw in everything needed. Put on a low to medium heat mix everything together and stir it every now and then until it is a smooth, sticky, non grainy consistency. 
Cool the brownies in a rack. Pour the icing over and put in the fridge. Once completely  cool take them out and  remove them from the dish, take off the parchment paper and cut up into pieces. I more often than not try cut them while still warm. Big mistake! But they just look so good and gooey! Don’t be silly like me! 

Bam brownies! Yum!!! 

Yes I took a bite before I took the photo, I just couldn’t resist. Hehe. 

Leave a Reply

